Doors Open

Author(s): Ian Rankin

Crime - Thriller

Mike Mackenzie is a self-made man with too much time on his hands and a bit of the devil in his soul. He is looking for something to liven up the days and settles on a plot to rip-off one of the most high-profile targets in the capital - the National Gallery of Scotland. So, together with two close friends from the art world, he devises a plan to a lift some of the most valuable artwork around. But of course, the real trick is to rob the place for all its worth whilst persuading the world that no crime was ever committed...

Product Information

'Fast, slick and exciting' -- William Leith EVENING STANDARD 'Inspector Rebus is absent from Ian Rankin's latest thriller but Edinburgh is as important a character as ever. Rankin expertly portrays the gang's different personalities as the plot thickens and darkens' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH 'The unravelling of the plan shows the author at his best: while the trio's motives for risking jail sometimes stretch credulity, the inexorable growth of mistrust within the gang is expertly and convincingly traced' -- John Dugdale SUNDAY TIMES 'This is Rankin's first stand-alone thriller for more than a decade. When two friends devise a plan to steal some of the world's most valuable artwork, their only option is to make it look like no crime has been committed' EDINBURGH EVE NEWS 'Fast, slick and exciting' LONDON LITE 'This is not Rebus, but it's fast, slick and exciting' THE SCOTSMAN

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into twenty-two languages and are bestsellers on several continents. Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for 'Resurrection Men'. He has also been shortlisted for the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the USA, and won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews and Edinburgh. A contributor to BBC2's 'Newsnight Review', he also presented his own TV series, 'Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts'. He recently received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.

General Fields

  • : 9781409102014
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : July 2009
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 25mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ian Rankin
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.914
  • : 416
  • : Crime & mystery